The FGDC was established in 1989 through the Office of Management and Budget Circular A-16 (OMB Circular 16 Revised 1990) and under Executive Order No.12906 (1994). It is charged with the responsibility to coordinate various surveying, mapping, and spatial data activities of federal agencies to meet the needs of the nation.

Current representation in the key roles involved in implementing the USNVC includes:
Chair – Vegetation Subcommittee, Marianne Burke, U.S. Forest Service
Implementation Manager – Vegetation Subcommittee, Alexa McKerrow, U.S. Geological Survey
Chair – ESA Panel on Vegetation Classification – David Roberts, Montana State University
Editor in Chief – ESA Panel on Vegetation Classification,  Don Faber-Langendoen, NatureServe
Manager – ESA Panel on Vegetation Classification, Jill Petraglia Parsons, ESA

Full membership on the Vegetation Subcommittee includes the following organizations:

U.S. Government
Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Forest Service (FS) – Chair
National Agriculture Statistical Service (NASS)
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Department of Commerce (DOC)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Department of Defense (DOD)
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Department of the Interior (USDI)
Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
National Park Service (NPS)
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Non U.S. Government
NatureServe (NS)
Ecological Society of America (ESA)